Beyond Our Borders – A World Perspective of Community Through Ayiti, Haiti

I was recently published in an online magazine that is run by the not-for-profit organization called the Austin Area Urban League Young Professionals. President Virginia Cumberbatch, a friend of mine from Williams College, asked me to write an article about my work experience in Haiti, with the AAUYP’s message in mind of how social change comes through the empowerment of communities. Making my experience relatable brought back a lot of memories, but the exercise in reflection helped me realize some more profound lessons from my time in Haiti, and the dynamics of international community I represented by being there as a professional with a mission. Below are screen shots of the article, but please click the link here to see more as the summer issue features a lot of great articles about professionalism and community building.  

