Next Post

Cement Trust

Another reminder to build back better for Haiti

I have experienced a couple of earthquakes while living in California. I don’t remember thinking, “I hope that the concrete doesn’t come down on me”.  This never crossed my mind because I had come to expect a certain level of safety from my concrete. This security came because many players in a functioning supply system made sure my concrete was of quality. California and Haiti are worlds apart when it comes to concrete construction practices, even though they both are in earthquake zones.

Earthquake possiblity in Haiti
Last night Haiti experienced another earthquake. I would bet good money that the lack of concrete quality was on the mind of hundreds of thousands in Haiti yesterday.  They have vivid memories of the impact from poor concrete construction as a result of the 2010 quake that killed so many.

Luckily the reports indicate that there were…

View original post 86 more words

